Personal Details

- Full Name : Tiruppattur Venkatachalamurti Ramakrishnan (T.V. Ramakrishnan)
- Date of Birth: 14th of August, 1941
- Address :

Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore 560012, India. Also, Department of Physics, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 221005, India.

- Present Position:
 - Distinguished Associate, Centre for Condensed Matter Theory, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore 560012, India. Also,
 - Emeritus Professor, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 221005, India. DST Year of Science Chair Professor
- Email address: <u>tvrama2002@yahoo.co.in</u>, <u>tvrama@physics.iisc.ernet.in</u>
- Telephone number: 919448363379 (Cell) ;91-80-23600628(IISc);91-5422367005 (BHU)
- Telefax: 91-80-23602602 (IISc)
- Web:<u>http://www.physics.iisc.ernet.in/~tvrama/</u>

Educational Background

- B.Sc. with Honours in Physics and Mathematics, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 1959
- M.Sc. in Physics, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 1961
- Ph.D. in Physics, Columbia University, New York, USA, 1966

Professional Career

- CSIR Junior Research Fellow, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 1961-62.
- Lecturer in Physics, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur, Oct. 1966-March 1967. Assistant Professor, March 1967- Dec. 1967.
- Assistant Research Physicist, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, California, USA, Jan. 1968 July 1970.
- Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, Sept. 1970 Oct.1977.
- Professor, IIT Kanpur, Oct. 1977- July 1980.
- Visiting Fellow, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA, Aug. 1978- Sept.1981.
- Consultant, Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA, July 1980-Sept.1981.

- Visiting Professor, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Oct.1981- Aug.1984.
- Coordinator, Research Programme on Disorder, Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA, Aug. 1983- Dec.1983.
- Professor, Department of Physics, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, Aug. 1984- April 1986.
- Professor, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, April 1986-Aug. 2003.
- Visiting Professor and Visiting Research Physicist, Department of Physics, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA, 1990-1991.
- Consultant, AT & T Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA, 1990-1991.
- Honorary Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore, 1993-2010.
- INSA Srinivasa Ramanujan Research Professor, 1997-2002.
- Rothschild Visiting Professor, Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Cambridge University, May-June, 2000.
- DAE Homi Bhabha Chair Professor (held in Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 2003-2008)
- Distinguished Associate, Centre for Condensed Matter Theory, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 2003-present.
- Visiting Fellow Commoner, Trinity College, and Visiting Professor, Cambridge University, 2004.
- Honorary Distinguished Professor, IIT Kanpur, Oct. 2004-2006.
- Emeritus Professor, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, India, 2006-present.
- Hindustan Lever Research Professor, 2008- 2011
- NCBS-TIFR Distinguished Visiting Research Professor, April 2012 March 2013.
- Distinguished Lifetime Professor, University of Mysore, 2013 present.
- DST Year of Science Chair Professor, April 2013 present.

Distinctions etc..

- Devasthale Prize in Physics, 1959.
- Higgins Fellow, Columbia University, New York, 1962-63; President's Fellow, Columbia University, 1963-66.
- Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 2004; IIT Kanpur, 2015; University of Calcutta, 2015.

Fellowship

- Indian Academy of Sciences (Bangalore), 1980.
- Indian National Science Academy (New Delhi), 1984.
- American Physical Society (USA), 1984.
- Third World Academy of Sciences (Trieste, Italy), 1991.
- National Academy of Sciences (Allahabad), 1993.
- Royal Society (London), UK, 2000.
- Institute of Physics, UK, 2000.
- Honorary Fellow, TIFR, Mumbai, 2004.
- Foreign Associate, Academie des Sciences (Paris), France, 2005.
- Honorary Associate, IACS, Kolkata, 2006.

Awards

- Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for Physical Sciences, CSIR, India, 1982.
- Third World Academy of Sciences Award in Physics, 1990.
- Mahendralal Sircar Award for Physical Sciences, 1994.
- Alumni Award for Excellence in Research, Indian Institute of Science, 1997.
- Jawaharlal Nehru Award for Science, MP Council for Science and Technology, 1999.
- C V Raman Centenary Medal, Indian Science Congress, 2001.
- Padma Sri, President of India, 2001.
- Meghnad Saha Medal, Asiatic Society, Kolkata, 2002.
- Distinguished Materials Scientist of the Year, Materials Research Society of India, 2004.
- Goyal Prize in Physics, Kurukshetra, 2004.
- Trieste Science Prize, 2005.
- G M Modi Award in Science, 2008.
- Firodia Award in Science, 2012.
- Hari Om Ashram Prerit Senior Scientist Award, 2014.
- G N Ramachandran Award in Physics, 2016.

Lectureship

- K S Krishnan Award Lecture, Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi, 1997
- Meghnad Saha Memorial Lecture, National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad, 2001
- National Lecturer, Indian Council of Philosophical Research, New Delhi, 2010-12.
- Meghnad Saha Memorial Lecture, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata, 2015.

Invited speaker at many international professional conferences, including

- Nobel Symposium 73 (Graftvallen, Sweden, June 1988) on Physics of Low-Dimensional Systems
- Critical Problems in Physics, a conference to commemorate 250 years of Princeton University, Aug. 1996
- Fifty Years of Condensed Matter Physics, Aspen, USA, Jan. 2000.
- Frontiers in Physics: Fortieth Anniversary of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy, Oct. 4-5, 2004.
- PWA 90 : Philip W Anderson Scientific Workshop and 90th Birthday Celeberation, Princeton, NJ USA; Dec. 2013.

Member, Editorial Board

 International Journal of Modern Physics (World Scientific Pub. Co. Singapore); Physica B (North Holland, Amsterdam); Journal of Physics Condensed Matter (IOP, UK; 1991-94); Physical Review B (APS, New York, 1993-98), European Journal of Physics (IOP, UK).

Membership (etc.), Scientific Councils

- International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy (1994-2003).
- Member, Union of Concerned Scientists, Cambridge MA, USA, 1994-present.
- Science and Engineering Research Council, Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India, New Delhi (1994-2000)
- Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Calcutta, (1995-2003)
- Nuclear Science Centre, New Delhi, (1995-2000)
- Centre for Liquid Crystals Research, Bangalore, (1996-2004)
- Vice-President, Indian National Science Academy, 2000-2003
- Inter University Consortium, Indore, (2001-2003)
- Indian Association for Cultivation of Science, Kolkata, (2004-2008)
- President, Indian Academy of Sciences, 2004-2006
- Chairman, Governing Council, Inter University Accelerator Centre, New Delhi 2005-2008
- Member, Executive Council, Banaras Hindu University, 2005-2008; 2011 2014
- Science Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (2005 2014)
- Chairman, Board of Governors, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune(2010 - 2015)
- Member, Board of Governors, Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi (2011-2015)